top of page

How To Make Your Goals S.M.A.R.T.

Updated: Feb 27, 2023


S.M.A.R.T. is a mnemonic acronym, giving criteria to guide in setting goals and objectives for better results, for example, in project management, employee performance management, and personal development. George T. Doran first proposed the term in the November 1981 issue of Management Review.
S.M.A.R.T. is a mnemonic acronym, giving criteria to guide in setting goals and objectives for better results, for example, in project management, employee performance management, and personal development. George T. Doran first proposed the term in the November 1981 issue of Management Review.

Specific: create clear goals that you can focus your efforts toward.

  • Example questions: "Why is this important? What's being accomplished? Who is involved? Resources needed?" Basically, answering who/what/when/where/why is the first step.

  • Real-life example: "I want Upsway Marketing to be a significant provider for marketing news and consultation."

Measurable: establish ways to track progress.

  • Example questions: "How much/many? How will I see my progress?"

  • Real-life example: "I'm working to have at least 2,500 unique visitors to the website by the end of the month. I will use the website analytics to track progress."

Achievable: assess the goal for its attainability.

  • Example questions: "Do I have constraints? Is this goal realistic?"

  • Real-life example: "I believe I have the time and resources to gain a larger website following."

Relevant: ensure your goals align with the goals of your business/self.

  • Example questions: "Is this worth my time/resources? Is this the right time/place? Am I the right person?

  • Real-life example: "I've audited Upsway Marketing's competitors and believe I can offer differentiated and valuable services."

Timely: create a timeline for achieving your goal(s).

  • Example questions: "What can I do today/in a month/in a year from now?"

  • Real-life example: "By the end of each week I would like Upsway Marketing to see an increase of 15% traffic to the website."



Comments


bottom of page